Tasty Tuesday

jambalaya

One Pot Barley Jambalaya 

Serves 4-6

Prep time: 20 min.

Cook time: 25-30 min.

2 Tbsp. butter

1 green pepper chopped

1 onion chopped

3 cloves of garlic chopped

1 lb. sausage links sliced

1 28z. can diced tomatoes

1 cup chicken broth

1 cup barley

1 tsp. red pepper or hot sauce

Heat the butter in a dutch oven on medium high heat. Once the butter is melted add the green pepper, onion, garlic and sliced sausage. Brown all the ingredients for about 5-7 minutes. Once browned add the diced tomatoes, chicken broth, barley and red pepper. 

Let all the ingredients simmer on low for 20-25 minutes until the barley is fully cooked and serve.

Sorry I have been MIA for the past few days, I had been a little under the weather with a bad ear infection but I am back in action.

I want to start a new weekly blog called Tasty Tuesdays. I will feature what I have planned for dinner that night and the prep that was involved.

This week we are having one pot barley jambalaya. I tweaked a recipe from the amazing Nordstrom’s cookbook. I added barley instead of rice and omitted any ingredients that were not all natural and organic. This recipe is so easy and so quick…….and so tasty!!! I made the entire recipe in advance and just refrigerated it until Tuesday when I plan to re-heat on the stove and serve. Another great thing about this recipe is you can make it as mild or spicy as you would like. I love the sausage variety at Trader Joe’s, so many flavors and all nitrate free, minimally processed and all-natural. I choose a mild sausage but you can make this as spicy as you want with a spicy italian variety and add more red pepper.

Let me know if you prepare this and what you think!! Would you add anything, take anything out?

Leave a Reply

