Banana Cinnamon Toast

banana cinn. toast

 

Is your mouth watering yet? I mean come on the sugar is actually caramelized on top of the bananas!!! I found an old blog by the queen herself, The Pioneer Woman, a few weeks ago on Cinnamon Toast the Right Way. For the complete instructions on the world’s most perfect way to make cinnamon toast please refer to her link…..she is the queen. But for today’s purposes I’ll show you what I did.

First off, I eat sprouted grain bread so that was the base for our toast. I also use turbinado sugar but other than that the rest of the ingredients are the same……other than my addition…….BANANA!!!! (see it hiding in the corner?)

banana cinn. toast ingredients

 

She explains how the best way is to make a paste with your butter, sugar, vanilla and cinnamon. This was difficult since it tastes like cake batter and it took a lot of will power to make it off that fork onto the bread and not straight in my mouth.

banana cinn. toast spread

 

Next, I spread half the “paste” onto the bread. Please ignore how old my sheet pan is. Sadly, we received it as a wedding gift but we cook soooooo much it has had a lot of mileage.

banana cinn. toast with spread

 

Next I sliced the banana very thin

banana cinn. toast banana

 

And then I added the bananas to the bread and spread on the final layer of sweet, perfect, sugary glaze!!!

banana cinn. toast with banana on top

 

Her directions suggest cooking on 350 degrees for about 10 min. and then cutting on the broiler for the last 1-2 min. I did it exactly how she told me to and let me tell you, it was wonderful!

Try it, let me know what you think, or better yet, try another fruit……strawberries, peaches, blueberries!!!!

Leave a Reply

