Tasty Tuesday-Chicken Series

Please find today’s recipe on Fifteen Spatulas, I follow it as if it was Biblical!

My mother-in-law was here last week, we had a blast! I was determined to make her this chicken dish because, well, it’s one of the best meals Cary and I have ever made! One thing I don’t bend the rules on is the type of meat I buy. It’s only grass fed beef and free range chicken in this house, organic too. But…..we are also on a fixed budget as a one income household so we really have to stretch that meat. I was so excited when I was able to get 15 adult servings out of this chicken! That isn’t even the same meal!!! I made 4 meals out of this one chicken dish AND a pot of broth! So I am making Tasty Tuesdays a series for the next 4 weeks of each recipe. Some I have shared before and some are very simple but I just wanted to show how you can eat healthy, organic and inexpensive!

I paired this chicken with “smashed potatoes” and glazed carrots. Each recipe is below:

Smashed Potatoes

Serves 2-4

1 lb. red bliss potatoes

4 tbsp. olive oil

salt and pepper

1 tbsp. rosemary (or any herb on hand thyme is great too)

1. Boil the potatoes in a large pot until they are cooked through. 2. Pour 2 tbsp. of the olive oil in the bottom of a rectangular pyrex dish, cover the bottom. 3. place cooked potatoes in the baking dish and use the bottom of a glass to “smash” them now. Keep them in tact but flat. 4. Pour the remaining olive oil on top and then top with salt, pepper and your choice of herb. 5. Bake the potatoes at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes until they get a bit crispy. 

Glazed Carrots

Serves 2-4

5-6 carrots 

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. balsamic vinegar

salt and peper

1 tbsp honey

1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. 2. Slice the carrots in 2 inch pieces at a diagonal. 3. Place the carrots in a large pyrex dish so they are evenly distributed and not touching, drizzle with the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt and pepper. 4. Bake the carrots for about 20 minutes until they start to brown. 5. Remove the carrots and immediately drizzle with honey, cool a bit and serve. 

Leave a Reply

